Overstimulation: Living in the Digital Age & the Crux of the 21st Century

As a kid in the 90s, some of my earliest memories formed around the joys of music – played on cassette tapes. I missed out on the 8-track, but I think it’s safe to say I didn’t really miss much as vinyl has now made a come back. Since childhood, things have advanced quickly and drastically in the technology world. For better or for worse.

Back then, one of my favourite pastimes was making my own mix tapes. I’d plant myself in front of my coveted radio, plop in a blank cassette tape, and wait vigilantly until my favourite songs came on my favourite radio station so I could fervently press the Record button. Can you imagine anyone taking the time to do that nowadays? It took me hours. But the product of my patience was a holy grail in my little hands that provided endless satisfaction and pride. A snapshot, a sliver in time captured. I wish I still had those tapes (because no 90s music is bad 90s music…). But I’ll settle for this matured taste/ vintage find from the other year:

Bleach Cassette

There’s something to be said for putting in the time and effort – whether that be recording your own mix tape or rewinding VHS movies – it makes you appreciate things.

Do we genuinely appreciate things these days? Or does convenience cause us to take things for granted?

Everything is available to us at our fingertips and in the blink of an eye. In my lifetime we’ve gone from cassette tapes, to CDs, to iPods. From Napster to iTunes to Spotify. From dial up internet to 5G wifi. Laserdisc to VHS to DVD to Blu-Ray to Netflix. MSN Messenger to texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Reddit, YouTube, etc. Landlines to the ever-shrinking flip phone and on to the ever-advancing iPhones. Desktop computers to Macbooks and tablets. Libraries to Google. Books to blogs.

Kids aren’t even being taught to handwrite anymore! Instead toddlers are being occupied by screens of all sizes. My penmanship is a marker of my age – and I’m not that old.

The advancements we’ve made as a human race in the digital age are astounding.

But, in the interest of looking at both sides – at what price?

There is so much that technology provides us with. One of the best things about it is communication, being able to keep in touch with people that you live a long distance from and connect to anyone in the world – family, clients, new friends. Though, there’s something to be said about walking into a restaurant and seeing families or friends coming together just to stare at their phones… You can also access so much information and answer almost any question with one quick google search. Technology is convenient, it creates connections, and it opens the world up to us.

As with anything, it is important to make informed decisions. Make your own choices, and consider that technology is something being sold to you.

I’ve enjoyed a lot of the benefits of technology in my life. But gradually I’ve come to see that there are downsides, too.

One is how my attention span and focus have deteriorated over the years. To the point where I often feel like my mind is racing. I feel “over-stimulated”. Tense. Anxious. Hard to focus. Everything is fast-paced. Maybe humans weren’t meant to operate at high speeds 24-7.

I also waste a lot of time on social media. True, that is my choice, but I believe social media can be a form of addiction.

Possibly most unsettling: we don’t know the full effects of EMF on our bodies. As an environmental factor that has only emerged in our lifetime, science has to play catch up. And with the technology constantly changing, it’s hard to say what cumulative effects may evolve. In this case it seems we are the guinea pigs. Predominant concerns lie with radiation emitted from smart metres and 5G wifi, advancements in technology that are currently in the beginning stages of mass rollout. One thing is for sure: more information is needed. Think critically, be objective, be proactive, and if you’re curious here are a few places to start:

I’m not an expert, but I think it’s worth a look.

Maybe it’s a “getting older thing”, but as I journey through the latter half of my twenties I think I’m starting to see a bigger picture. I can see how amazingly far the human race has come, how much we’ve advanced in these past few decades. And beyond that, I am starting to see how we fit in to the story of the human race as a whole – like an out of body/ era experience.

Every time period has its zeitgeist. Specific years and eras will forever be known for making a mark on history. There was the industrial revolution, and now we are living through the technological revolution. The human race consistently faces hardships, whether that be war, disease, famine, discrimination, or the elements. And it is in the face of adversity that we adapt.

Those who do not learn their history are doomed to repeat it. And while I’m also not a history buff, it seems like change tends to happen after it’s too late. I am sure there are people who cry out for change before catastrophe hits, but I’m guessing they’re often called crazy and ignored – by those in power who can spin a story and stand something to lose (money or power) by listening to them.

As I look at the time period I am living in, I can’t help but wonder what backlash our advancements might have. Clearly, Earth is in crisis. Population increases are posing problems. And while western medicine has saved countless lives, we are now facing issues, such as antibiotic resistant superbugs. Will technology add to the list? What advancements are actually the devil in a Sunday dress?

Plan for the worst, hope for the best.

K

 

 

 

HartRock90s Copyright © 2019

Leave a comment